If it ain’t right, don’t take it!

Today I sat down to think about what my life would have been if I had followed or not followed some advices people have given me in recent years. It was a whole lot of funny and sad drive through memory lane but this is what I came up with.

Sometimes I wonder what would have happened if I listened to my dad and studied mechanical engineering. I would have died by now. With all the physics, maths, chemistry (argh!) flowing in my brain, I’m quite sure I would either be in a psychiatric hospital or fighting for my life in one theatre waiting to be cut open by the surgeon that’s meant to save me from the cerebral malaria I would have contacted.

If I had followed my pastor and well wishers, I would have been a man of God holding crusades around the country. Don’t get me wrong, that would have been extremely cool but the stress and dedication; *sigh.

If I hadn’t followed my guidance counselor and english teacher in high school, this post you are reading would have been in a book or in the papers and would have been something really good. But thanks to them, I wasted 5 good years of my life lost in oblivion looking for my talent or something I could call my talent after they made me stop reading and writing respectively.

If I had taken my brother’s advice, I would have been a wrecked accountancy student. the fact that I love putting a lot, most times too much in everything I do get me really stressed at times. With all the calculations that would have been flying around, trust me; I would have shut down. So bro, thanks but no thanks for your wonderful advice.

If I had followed my advice, the situation wouldn’t have been different from my dad’s plan for me. I would have been studying civil engineering and be going through the chemistry (*argh), physics and maths cycle. The psychiatric hospital would have been my home.

Since I took my mum’s advice, I’m currently studying architecture. The stress is killing and I get headaches everyday. I walk all night, all day too and during any spare time I get. My lecturers don’t help matters and they keep reminding us that one can’t be lazy in architecture. But asides the stress, the course is really cool, you don’t get to do too much calculations, thinking and its a great get away from chemistry (*argh). My course mates are all wonderful and we have a lot of fun amidst the stress we are undergoing.

Finally, if I had followed my fantasy self’s advice, I would be on broadway right now with a voice that could bring down angels. My fame would have extended past this planet and some aliens from another planet somewhere would have come to kidnap me so they could listen to my voice. As I said, this is my fantasy, and we all have fantasies so don’t criticize me too much.

If I have the opportunity to go back and change something, I think I wouldn’t have listened to my guidance counselor or english teacher. Its quite painful that I quit writing then; I had so much promise but that’s in the past now. All I’ve got to do now is work on my present and see what the future has in store for me. If you’re wondering why I add this (*argh) anytime I mention chemistry, its because I had a nasty time with it as a high school student, one I never want to have again.

All in all, I’m happy I took my mum’s advice, I wouldn’t have discovered how wonderful architecture and my course mates are. And *clears throat* its the best course you can ever study. 😉

Tnx for reading!

7 thoughts on “If it ain’t right, don’t take it!

  1. i realli do wonder wat cud hav been if i had taken certain pple advice, but hey im here now, u just can pray u make the right choice.
    I LIKE BY THE WAY, IT GOT ME THINKING.

    Like

  2. Pingback: One Year and counting…… | Damstylee

Leave a Reply

